Welcome to the Journey of Me

Hi everyone. I am new to this blogging thing though if you speak to any of my exes who have had a digital deaths via email and text, they may beg to differ. I am a writer, a poet, a singer, a dancer, and on occasion I slay some clay and do pottery. My name is Deniece. I have so many nicknames: Truth, Niecy, Sunshine, Carrot, Dee Dee etc. I mainly believe it’s because people associate you with what they think suites you and sometimes its just easier to call someone something else, Lord knows almost everyone spells my name wrong. In most instances friends, family and the like have been accurate in these name alternatives. So at the end of the day don’t all nicknames just kind of fit and work? It begs the questions: Who do you believe you are?  Are you what others think of you or do you have a true sense of self? Is your sense of self like that of a chameleon? Do you change by a Facebook status, Twitter update, or an Instagram post? Are you grounded in a solid foundation? Are you sinking in tech quicksand, and virtual reality with the hopes of finding yourself in a javascript, HTML5 , C++, or BASIC soap opera which we now categorize as our “life online”. I say “you” loosely, but I am speaking to me too. My point is that the journey to myself is a long one. I used to think it was based on of how many goals I could accomplish in 5 year increments. Then I started running out of goals or rather they just weren’t big enough and awesome enough in my humble opinion…though my resume indicates otherwise. So, here I am writing in hopes that for every word I type, a small piece of me will be revealed, shoot maybe I can help someone along the way. I mean isn’t that what the journey is about? By the way be prepared for lots of scripture, lots of laughs, and maybe some tears. I already have a foundation…drumroll the word of God, it’s the application that is the hard part. Did I mention I am a perfectionist and control freak, so guess what that already makes me a contradiction to Most High…He is in control and sovereign. So imagine what its like for me relinquishing all control…its a daily struggle. Despite my major flaws, He loves me and blesses me anyway, so the least I could do is tell whoever will listen about His goodness, grace, and mercy…right? Right. Anyway I hope you enjoy till next time. Be blessed:

Ephesians 5: 1-2 

Walk in Love

Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.

Leave a Reply

