Prayer, Praise, and Obedience: Soldier Directives

God is amazing. Truly truly amazing. I woke up this morning thinking about how truly amazing He is. This week is Holy Week for Christians. As a Christian you are bound to be preparing for Resurrection Sunday or “Easter” as the world recognizes it. You will doll up your kids to say their speech and prepare them for the play. You will run to and fro to be sure that everything is in order this week to celebrate that He has risen. Some of us have been fasting and praying for lent being careful to put down the poor habits or luxuries that we have picked up or overindulged in just to show our dedication/discipline to the Lord and express  penitence. The reflection on who God is, what Jesus did on the cross for everyone is just amazing, self-less, and loving. Have you ever just sat alone and read the execution of Jesus on the cross? I have and it has brought me to tears many times. I like to believe it’s because I love God oh so much, and I do! But another part of it is a bit selfish too, because I know what my walk as a Christian has been like. Sure it’s been joy lots of joy! But there has also been lots of pain, misunderstanding, and wrongdoing by myself and others. Unspeakable things that not everyone has the stomach to endure. There are still lots of unanswered questions as I mature in my faith. As a child if I asked  “why” of my mother or asked a question that she could not answer/would not answer; she’d say “because I said so” and pretty much end the conversation.  I dreaded hearing this because all I wanted was an answer. I wanted to understand. God does this to His children all of the time. But the full answer is “because I said so, because I love you, and because I know what’s best for you, and I know the outcome. ” If you are not praising/shouting right now…you missed it. It brings me comfort to know

1). Jesus died on the cross, so ALL not some of my sins are forgiven.

Isaiah 38:17 Indeed it was for my own peace
That I had great bitterness; But You have lovingly delivered my soul from the pit of corruption, For You have cast all my sins behind Your back.

 

2) He has given me purpose and assignment. There are things that God has called me (and only me) specifically to do, things that He has called you (only you) specifically to do…so DO them.

Exodus 9:16 But indeed for this purpose I have raised you up, that I may show My power in you, and that My name may be declared in all the earth.

3) Take comfort in knowing that you are victorious in all things especially when you are aligned to God’s will in your life.

Romans 8:28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

Yesterday I had my heart set on seeing “Get Hard” Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart’s new movie. Yes as saved as I am, I still laugh at stereotypical jokes with sexual innuendos. I had it all planned. I was going to go to breakfast, catch a movie, get my nails done, eyebrows waxed, and prepare for my interview for today. While sitting at the breakfast bar,  I met a sister in Christ. How did I know, because ole girl prayed over her food and she was glowing with the joy of the Lord. Now she could have been praying to someone else, but ending a prayer in Jesus name confirmed it. She ordered these grits that I had been wanting to try, but I am picky about my grits; so I tend to stay with my traditional (butter, salt, pepper, and sometimes cheese.) I asked her about the grits which she confirmed are delicious, and the rest of the meal turned into a friendly chat and conversation about God, work, who we were and where we came from etc. As breakfast is coming to an end, she mentions she is going to see Do You Believe? WAIT! WAIT a minute. Now I had seen a preview of this movie  about two weeks ago. I wanted to go see it and kept postponing just like I had been postponing ordering those grits. It’s about God, the cross etc. Same film company that did “God’s not Dead”. She asked if I wanted to join her and I said I was going to the movies as well, to see Get Hard. Can I tell you this…This still small voice asked me would I rather see a movie about God or comedy about jail and homophobia. Now truth moment…I did want to see the movie I intended on seeing, but I didn’t want to postpone seeing something that I knew would bless me beyond just a laugh. So I switched gears and went to see the movie. It blessed me. Long story short, new friend, fresh anointing, and a book club invite for tomorrow focused on PRAYER! This may not excite you, but it excites me because I had been praying for God to strengthen my prayer life so I will be more fruitful in my labor and look how He answered. Amazing right? Yes. Amen walls.

Now the movie was a blessing and a tear jerk-er. Think of the movie Crash covered with anointing oil, holy water, and scripture :-). Every person in this world has a cross to bear. Jesus paid it all with His death and resurrection.  We are called to serve, to spread the gospel, share it with someone. Life hurts, this is the reality. People live, die, cheat, steal, lie, disappointment, and can be self-serving; but People can also love, help, encourage, be honest, be giving, and have a genuine interest in changing the world for the better just because. Stop entertaining people and things for short-term thrills. Pay attention to those that are hurting. I often have strangers (yes strangers) come and tell me everything that is going on with them. I don’t know these people from a hole in the wall. It used to freak me out and I would wonder why they felt compelled to share with me. I’ve concluded it’s probably because they need prayer, it’s because they need encouragement, and for some reason they know I can provide it. So I do and I will in obedience.

As I write today, the Lord has been dealing with me about prayer, praise and obedience.  He has been testing and stretching my faith in Him. Filtering different aspects of my life. This process though…it kinda sucks. I mean even knowing all of the above that small annoying child in me is saying “But Why?” Only now, it brings me joy that He is even considering me worthy as a soldier to counter spiritual warfare.

To God Be the Glory

Written with Love

Truth

2 thoughts on “Prayer, Praise, and Obedience: Soldier Directives

  1. AMEN!!!

    This Holy week is a week set aside for sacred use, standing apart from evil or sin. Thus its the one week of the year that is supposed to represent the weekly Sabbath day which we are to remember and keep holy. The Sabbath, a day to honor God with rest and worship. In honor of what this week truly represents, our salvation, lets consider this PRAISE Week. Each Sabbath lets consider it PRAISE Day. Each and every day we step foot on our mission fields to spread the Good News, thus our work in the Lord does not stop even on the Sabbath. So, every day remember our mission and keep the PRAISE going so that we are honoring God non stop.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

