Sowing Seeds of YES and NO

Oh what a day! It started with lunch with one of my sweet beautiful friends. Then, I spoke to one of my mentors whom I met through work, I saw two of my neighbors whom I adore, and I also practiced praise dancing with one of my baby sisters in Christ. A full day for sure. All day today I felt the love of friendship and I found myself thinking how blessed I truly am. The Lord blessed me with one more day. I said to myself what makes me so special, how did I get to be so lucky. It’s not because I am so perfect, or that I am the easiest person to get along with. Lord knows if you catch me on a bad day or you have offended me I can cut you with my tongue and leave permanent marks. Pray for me :-), the Lord is still getting out the kinks. Today was not one of those days though, like not at all. I mean this Pollen and the allergens in the air can kick rocks barefoot, for inflaming my sinuses, but besides that all good. I really got to thinking about the seeds I have sown. Depending on what type of seeds you plant in your garden, you can have a field of roses, field of thorns, or a mix of both. I thought back to the times when I felt the least loved and unappreciated and how many thorns surrounded my life, how many times I had tried to influence and impress to get friends, and keep them. How many I tried to love so desperately but never seeing the love returned. Now I know it was the seeds I was planting, and me being too lazy to tend to my own garden. If I just stepped on a toe or you said ouch, then you know exactly what I am talking about. My pastor is always talking about letting the light within shine bright, and understanding that even bugs are attracted to light. Well thorns and weeds are attracted to beautiful and pretty things too! I guess if I was an ugly thorn, and I knew no one cared for me I might try to embed myself or “get lost” in a garden of beauty. I may feel like if someone came to check my thorny butt out, that the beauty of those roses would cover the ugliness of my thorns. I am not a thorn though. I plant seeds of love, I sow seeds of faith, I sow seeds of friendship, I sow seeds of truth, honesty, and respect even when the dirt I sow in is not fit for growth. ( This is not wise, you will get hurt this way, but I have done it for sure, sometimes still do). If you have sown or are sowing the type of seeds above and you are not seeing anything in your garden but thorns and weeds, then you may need to consider a different plot of land because something is wrong with the foundation. I am speaking to myself to. Have you ever done something over and over again and you know you have the right way to do it, the right tools even, but it just doesn’t seem to work. You want it to happen one way, But God wants it to happen a different way. Geesh, that type of stuff irks my nerve, but its real life. Let me bring it closer to home. You giving Kingdom (King and Queen) benefits to paupers and jokers? Not every person you meet gets to be apart of your life. Not every person you call friend is your friend. The best answer to some of the toughest questions and problems can simply be “NO”. There is no guilt or shame in saying it either. This does not mean that we all walk around denying people in need or not being kind and caring. It simply means that you may be creating an environment for thorns to be in your garden. Then you walking around your garden with cut ankles and bruises because a simple “No” was not uttered. For the faint at heart who want to be polite “Thank You, but no thank you”.  I am a professional “No” linguist. It saves me trouble and I sleep peacefully. I say Praise God though for my “Yes”! My day today was a product of my yes! The people I chose to be around, how I chose to spend my day, what I entertained and what I did not! It was great, stress free for sure.  My day was spent in the presence of the Lord with the people I have sown seeds into and vice versa. Matthew 13 is the parable of the sower. Don’t skip it read it 🙂 I was reminded of it today, but I was drawn to 5 verses.

Matthew: 13:18-23

Therefore hear the parable of the sower: 19 When anyone hears the word of the kingdom, and does not understand it, then the wicked one comes and snatches away what was sown in his heart. This is he who received seed by the wayside. 20 But he who received the seed on stony places, this is he who hears the word and immediately receives it with joy; 21 yet he has no root in himself, but endures only for a while. For when tribulation or persecution arises because of the word, immediately he stumbles. 22 Now he who received seed among the thorns is he who hears the word, and the cares of this world and the deceitfulness of riches choke the word, and he becomes unfruitful. 23 But he who received seed on the good ground is he who hears the word and understands it, who indeed bears fruit and produces: some a hundredfold, some sixty, some thirty.”

Short entry today, but I pray fruitful seeds of  yes and no  are planted in your garden. If not, it’s never too late to start. Mine is shaping up pretty nice, and I like it…like ALOT.

Blessings,

Written with Love,

Truth

Leave a Reply

