Check Your Company

I Corinthians 15:33-34

Do not be deceived: “Evil company corrupts good habits.” Awake to righteousness, and do not sin; for some do not have the knowledge of God. I speak this to your shame.

All week long the Lord has been dealing with me about habits and the company I keep. Naturally, I decided to meditate on this and see what my manna from Heaven says. So in my humble opinion, I have the greatest friends and support group around me. I live thousands of miles away from my hometown in Boston, but I have managed to find me a great church family, some lifelong friends whom I now consider family : shoutouts to Young Palmer, Killah K, Brownie and Waffle. P.s I’m big on nicknames so these have been used to protect the innocent. I spend so much time with
these 4 people and we just click. If you have ever had some really great framily (friends+family) then you know what I’m talking about. These people keep me on my toes and sharpen me spiritually. Then there are my friends and family back home WAY too many to name. I think about the good habits I’ve developed. Those are easy. Before Christ though I had some pretty bad habits…I was bitter, angry, drank too  much, cussed too much, fought too much, I smoked nasty cigarettes, yes (I know gross). I got in my own way all the time, because I believed I was in complete control of anything and everything around me. I was stressed sometimes even depressed. The best thing I ever did was exchange my company I kept. For starters I had to recognize God and recognize that He gave His only son for me. Do you know how much pressure and burdens were lifted from me, just in acknowledging Christ as my Savior. Receiving God’s love and developing a relationship with Him literally forced me to check my company and exchange it for ultimate comforting company: Jesus and his Holy Spirit. The Bible says Be Not Deceived Evil Company corrupts Good Habits. Have you ever backslid into a poor habit, or found your oh so saved self doing things you used to do and then wondering what happened? Well, I have and I had to self evaluate and check my company. Checking your company is not always checking your immediate circle of friends or family either, sometimes checking your company is doing a spiritual read of the holy spirit that dwells in you . IS IT PRESENT AND BEING FED? In other words…what have you been pouring into yourself spiritually, physically, and emotionally. Are you spending enough time with God and asking Him to keep you. There is a song that says “oh to be kept by Jesus
It sings about being in the company of the Lord. We must do this daily. It’s easy to blame our shortcomings, backsliding, and iniquities on others and circumstances, but let us not be deceived that all influences are always other men. YOU (myself included can be your own worse enemy). Nurture yourself regularly and know what God has in store for you. It’s okay to ask others for advice but God has the final say and knows the plans He has for you!

Jeremiah.29.11.nkjv
For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord , thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Check your company, your first line of defense and first “person” in your presence should be the Holy Spirit. Its here to guide you. So try to steer away from evil company that corrupts good habits. The best way to do this is to be spiritually strong. Evil spirits can’t be around Good spirits very long.  Scripture tells us  at the name of Jesus, every knee shall bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, but it will help if people actually see Jesus in you and that they recognize you dwell in the company of the most high. Just a bit of food for thought!
Be Blessed,
Written with Love
TRUTH

Posted from WordPress for Android

One thought on “Check Your Company

Leave a Reply

